The Bruce Donahue/Brad Jernegan Award

In recognition of his consistent and exceptional devotion to the BoSox Club, for his innumerable and immeasurable contributions to the BoSox Club as past president, as a director for decades and as a member of the Club since 1967, the Jernegan Award is now known as the Bruce Donahue/Brad Jernegan Award.

A man of true grit and relentless integrity who always seeks to do the right thing and not the easy thing.  A man who stepped forward a decade ago when the BoSox Club needed a reconciler and a leader to move the Club forward to a brighter day.  An American patriot, he served eight years in the U.S. Navy.  Bruce Donahue is a one-of-a-kind man for all Red Sox seasons; a goodwill ambassador for all things BoSox, and a Red Sox Baseball Hall of Fame inductee voter.  He is not a man content with hitting dribblers through the infield.  This is the clutch hitter you want at bat, swinging for the fences when it means the most for the BoSox Club.

Bruce's notable exploits on behalf of the BoSox Club include:

* The 2012 Ted Williams stamp was the result of Bruce's multi-year effort coordinating between the Boston Red Sox, the United States Postal Service and the Williams' family.

*  Memorabilia gate-keeper – Bruce's purchasing, collecting signatures and inventorying items such as baseballs, bats, and hats to be used at club raffles, have raised tens of thousands of dollars.

*  Bruce's management of the annual spring training tickets is a multifold, time consuming task that he has handled on behalf of the Club for many years.

*  Bruce's instrumental role and his liaison relationship with Red Sox management has contributed mightily in organizing special guests and players at BoSox Club luncheons.

*  Bruce took the early lead in organizing the military service members to be honored at BoSox Club luncheons, and initiated the relationship with sponsors to cover the cost of military personnel to attend the lunches.

*  As goodwill ambassador for the BoSox Club, Bruce acted for decades as liaison with the Cape Cod League, the Pawtucket Red Sox, the Jimmy Fund and Red Sox management, helped establish the BoSox Club plaque at Fenway Park, and chaired the St. Anslem's Scholarship Committee on behalf of the DiMaggio family and the BoSox Club.

Bruce's character and personality always enlighten his fellow BoSox Club directors and members with the expression, "There's always another spring coming along, another summer afternoon and evening at Fenway, and another time at bat that gives another change for the big hit."

The Award was originally named in honor of the late Brad Jernegan, a charter member and President of the BoSox Club in 1969 and 1970. His dedication and tireless efforts on behalf of the BoSox Club remain an inspiration to all that follow. His enthusiasm during the founding of the club and his leadership during the formative years were indispensable to the ultimate success of the Club.

The Award, presented by a vote of the Board of Directors, recognizes special and continuing contributions to the BoSox Club. The Award is presented at the Annual Meeting of the BoSox Club in the years in which the Board of Directors believes there is a fitting and deserving candidate.

Winners of the Bruce Donahue/Brad Jernegan Award:

2019 - Roseanne Alvino

2018 - Bob Roussel

2017 - Pam Kenn

2016 - Larry Lucchino

2015 - Paul Shorthose

2014 - Dan Roche

2013 - Steve Dukeman

2012 - Dr. Joel Leonard

2011 - Cynthia Geoff

2010 - Johnny Pesky

2009 - Bruce Donahue

2008 - Ed Keohane

2007 - Dominic DiMaggio

2006 - Dick Flavin

2005 - Craig MacNaught

2004 - Frank Fiorentino

2003 - Ben Mondor


2002 - No Award Given

2001 - Bill Brooks

2000 - Jean Brooks

1999 - Tim Dugal & Lib Dooley

1998 - Lee Cummings

1997 - Audrey Prihoda

1996 - John Harrington

1995 - Tom Feenan, Jr.

1994 - James 'Lou' Gorman

1993 - Frank Geishecker

1992 - George Berardi

1991 - Bob Stanley

1990 - Mike Ryan

1989 - Dick Bresciani

1988 - Dr. Jerry Jernegan

1987 - Tom Feenan, Sr.

1986 - Ted Lepcio

1985 - Clarence March

1984 - Bob Cheyne

1983 - Buddy LeRoux & Haywood Sullivan   

1982 - No Award Given

1981 - No Award Given

1980 - Dan Campbell

1979 - Harry Carlson

1978 - No Award Given

1977 - No Award Given

1976 - Dick Casey

1975 - No Award Given

1974 - No Award Given

1973 - Bill Crowley

1972 - Ken Coleman

©2023 BoSox Club. All rights reserved.